Director’s Message – September, 2020

Guy Rodgers speaking at ELAN’s 2020 AGM via Zoom. 
Photo: Juan Velasquez

ELAN held its 16th Annual General Meeting on August 24. It was our first online AGM and the first AGM not followed by a schmoozer. This is the year of doing things differently. I want to thank the 90 people who joined us via Zoom, and ELAN’s staff and project managers who made engaging presentations about the work they are doing. You can see all the details here in the 2020 AGM information package that contains Activity Reports, Audited Financial Statements, Budget and Team Bios. With considerable sadness we said au revoir to five board members: Karen Cho, Louise Campbell, Purna Bhattacharya, Lori Schubert and Keith Henderson.

ELAN members elected eleven board members for two-year terms. The four new board members are Brian D’Oliviera (Music), Emmanuel Hessler (Film and Video), Elise Moser (representing the Quebec Writer’s Federation) and Anna Scollan (Corporate). Returning board members are Li Li (President/Theatre), Kakim Goh, (Vice-President/Visual Arts), Angie Cheng (Treasurer/Dance), Patrick Lloyd Brennan (representing the Quebec Drama Federation), Isak Goldschneider (Music), Anna Levanthal (representing the Association of English Language Publishers of Quebec) and Roger Sinha (Dance). They join the six board members elected in 2019: Paul Bracegirdle (Writing & Publishing), Blair Mackay (Arts Presenting Organizations), Tim Piper (Regions), Deirdre Potash (Regions), Victoria Sanchez (Film and Video) and Quinten Sheriff (Visual Arts).

As most of you know, this was my last AGM as ELAN’s Executive Director. I am proud of ELAN’s dynamic, diverse board and our dedicated staff and I look forward to working with them during the coming months of transition and succession.


Here are a few screenshots from our 2020 AGM:


Guy Rodgers

Executive Director