Conseil d’administration.

ELAN’s board consists of representatives from the various artistic disciplines that ELAN serves, representatives of the regions outside Greater Montreal, and representatives from sister organizations – the Quebec Drama Federation (QDF), the Quebec Writers Federation (QWF) and the Association of English Language Publishers (AELAQ).

Executive
Directors
Committees

Executive:

President

Bettina Forget (arts visuels) est une artiste plasticienne, galeriste, enseignante en art et chercheuse qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle est propriétaire et directrice de la galerie Visual Voice, située au centre-ville de Montréal, où l’on présente des expositions d’art contemporain créant un dialogue entre l’art et la science. En 2018, Bettina est devenue directrice du programme des beaux-arts de l’Initiative Convergence—Perceptions in Neuroscience, où elle cherche à favoriser la réflexion interdisciplinaire et à repousser les limites entre l’art et la science. Depuis 2016, Bettina est chercheuse en arts et sciences pour le programme d’artistes en résidence de l’Institut SETI. À ce titre, elle s’intéresse aux échanges d’idées entre artistes et scientifiques travaillant en collaboration, et elle étudie différents modèles de connaissance. Elle poursuit actuellement un doctorat en enseignement des arts à l’Université Concordia, au Canada. Son projet de recherche porte sur la recontextualisation des rapports entre l’art et la science et montre comment les femmes et les filles peuvent s’intéresser aux matières STEM par l’entremise de la « Maker Education ». Le travail créatif de Bettina s’inspire des sciences de l’espace et témoigne de son intérêt passionné pour l’astronomie amateure. Elle a exposé ses œuvres aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Allemagne, en Islande, à Singapour et au Nicaragua.

Vice President

Louise Campbell (Music) est clarinettiste, pédagogue et défenseure des arts. En tant qu’interprète, elle bouscule les formes de concert traditionnelles et privilégie la création d’œuvres nouvelles. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement à la création interdisciplinaire, aux œuvres in situ et aux arts communautaires. Également enseignante, Louise privilégie l’apprentissage expérientiel qui permet aux élèves d’apprendre et de comprendre par la pratique. Elle conjugue sa passion pour la performance et pour l’enseignement en développant des activités de sensibilisation qui tournent autour de la création musicale participative. Louise est actuellement vice-présidente du conseil d’administration du Réseau canadien pour les musiques nouvelles.

Treasurer

Kristelle Holliday (régions) est depuis 2012 directrice générale du Théâtre des Petites Lanternes, dont elle vient d’être nommée co-directrice artistique. Dans sa propre pratique artistique, elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec des artistes et des communautés à créer des spectacles de théâtre en plein air à grande échelle. Son intérêt pour cette forme d’art provient des histoires et des paysages humains incroyablement variés qu’elle a découverts au cours de ses années passées à l’étranger. Désormais établie au Canada, elle est profondément inspirée par la beauté, la poésie et l’émotion qui émane de son nouvel environnement. Très active au sein de la communauté artistique québécoise, elle s’intéresse à créer des ponts entre les milieux artistiques francophones et anglophones, participe aux discussions sur la question de la représentation et contribue activement aux débats sur l’art engagé socialement ou en relation avec le domaine de la santé.

Secretary

Karen Cho (cinéma/télévision) est une cinéaste sino-canadienne reconnue pour ses documentaires à caractère social. La filmographie de Karen comprend notamment In the Shadow of Gold Mountain (2004), un documentaire sur la Loi de l’immigration chinoise au Canada, et Terre d’asile (2009), un film sur les demandeurs d’asile au Canada qui lui a valu d’être finaliste aux prix Gémeaux. Avec le film Statu Quo? (2012), qui porte sur les droits des femmes, Karen a remporté le prix du meilleur documentaire au Whistler Film Festival. Karen travaille également comme scénariste/réalisatrice, éditrice et créatrice de contenu pour des séries télévisées et des webséries. Parmi les nombreuses productions auxquelles elle a participé, mentionnons Extraordinary Canadians (CBC), The Beat (City), License to Drill (Discovery), Yukon Gold (History), We are Canada (CBC), Vice Guide to Film (Viceland), Art is my Country (CBC arts web) et The Detectives (CBC). En 2018, Karen a été finaliste aux Prix écrans canadiens pour la réalisation d’un épisode de la série documentaire Interrupt This Program (CBC).

Directors:

Fortner Anderson (cinéma/télévision). Reconnu pour ses performances poétiques, Fortner a présenté son travail au Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville, au Poesie Festival de Berlin (Allemagne), à la Live Biennale (Vancouver) et aux 8e et 10e éditions du Festival international de poésie de Gênes (Italie). Fortner a occupé pendant 13 ans le poste de directeur exécutif du chapitre québécois de la Guilde canadienne des réalisateurs, et pendant deux ans celui de directeur exécutif du centre d’artistes Vidéographe.

Purna Bhattacharya (entreprises) est une productrice, auteure-compositrice-interprète et conseillère en développement artistique indo-canadienne basée à Montréal. Elle utilise l’art comme outil de sensibilisation et de dialogue dans l’espace public, ainsi que pour promouvoir l’égalité des chances de travail pour les femmes, les personnes LGBT ou atteintes de surdité/mutité. Elle promeut la diversité culturelle et illustre son propre parcours en utilisant dans son logo l’image du paon, l’animal national de l’Inde. Possédant 10 années d’expérience dans le domaine de la musique et des affaires, Purna a enseigné à l’Université Concordia et à l’Université Carleton, a dirigé et collaboré à maintes productions audio/vidéo et initié des projets de composition de chansons. Elle détient une maîtrise en musicologie ainsi que des certificats en Soutien pédagogique et en Musique et créativité. En 2018, Purna se concentre sur la création d’un démo témoignant de son talent d’écriture, de composition et de production de chansons ; elle organise des ateliers axés sur la créativité, les affaires et l’équité sociale ; elle œuvre comme conseillère auprès d’artistes en développement ; et elle représente le groupe Forestare à titre d’agent artistique sur la scène internationale (hors Québec).

Paul Bracegirdle (littérature/édition) est un auteur primé de livres pour enfants et jeunes adultes. Sous le nom de PJ Bracegirdle et sous le pseudonyme Paul Blackwell, il a signé quatre romans et deux livres illustrés qui ont été traduits dans plusieurs langues. Originaire de Montréal, Paul a fait des tournées d’auteur dans des écoles et des festivals littéraires à travers tout le Canada. Il a également agi comme mentor auprès d’auteurs émergents et siégé sur les jurys de divers programmes et prix littéraires.

Patrick Lloyd Brennan (théâtre – Quebec Drama Federation) détient un baccalauréat en danse contemporaine de l’Université Concordia, et il est très actif dans la communauté des arts de la scène depuis plus de dix ans. Il possède une vaste expérience à titre de travailleur culturel, ayant travaillé notamment pour Juste pour rire, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, Parts + Labour_Danse, la compagnie du théâtre Centaur, le Centre Segal et la Quebec Drama Federation dont il est l’actuel directeur général. Patrick Lloyd a contribué par son expertise à l’élaboration de politiques, de conseils d’administration et de comités pour divers organismes tels que le Conseil québécois du théâtre, la Coalition canadienne des arts, le théâtre MainLine, le festival FRINGE Saint-Ambroise et AIDS Community Care Montreal (ACCM). Il a représenté sa communauté à titre de conférencier invité lors de nombreux colloques, notamment les Consultations pancanadiennes sur les langues officielles 2016 de Patrimoine canadien, les conférences de la Professional Association of Canadian Theatres, la Conférence nationale de Fierté Montréal sur les droits des personnes LGBTTIQA2S, et l’Arts & Business Exchange de Business for the Arts (abx).

Kakim Goh (arts visuels) est un artiste plasticien, commissaire et travailleur culturel originaire de Singapour et établi à Montréal. Il crée des installations interdisciplinaires réunissant peinture, performance et vidéo, et, depuis 1993, il a exposé maintes fois au Mexique et au Québec, notamment à OBORO, au MAI et à la Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal. Ses œuvres figurent dans des collections privées au Canada, aux États-Unis, à Singapour, au Mexique et au Chili. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en peinture et dessin de l’Université Concordia. Kakim œuvre depuis longtemps dans les milieux communautaires afin de promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans les secteurs de l’éducation, des arts et de la culture. Kakim est membre du comité d’évaluation des nouvelles pratiques artistiques et du secteur multidisciplinaire du Conseil des arts de Montréal. Il a été commissaire du programme des arts visuels du Festival Accès Asie de 2014 à 2016, dont il occupe actuellement le poste de vice-président du conseil d’administration.

Keith Henderson (édition – AELAQ) a publié quatre romans (Acqua Sacra, 2016 ; The Roof Walkers, 2013 ; The Restoration, 1994 ; et The Beekeeper, 1990), un recueil d’essais politiques datant de l’époque où il était chroniqueur pour le Financial Post (Staying Canadian, 1997), et un recueil de nouvelles (The Pagan Nuptials of Julia, 2006), tous parus chez DC Books. Il a dirigé un petit parti politique provincial au Québec, lors du référendum de 1995, afin de défendre les droits des anglophones et la stratégie de la « pilule empoisonnée » qui visait à diviser le Québec si jamais le Québec divisait le Canada. Ses positions ont fait l’objet d’articles parus dans le Los Angeles Times et dans le New York Times, et de l’émission 60 Minutes sur les ondes de la CBC. Par la suite, il a été président de l’Association des éditeurs de langue anglaise du Québec (AELAQ).

Li Li (théâtre) est une Canadienne de première génération. Elle a passé son enfance à circuler d’un continent à l’autre, pour finalement s’installer au Québec. Elle détient un baccalauréat en Imagerie et son numériques avec une mineure en théâtre de l’Université Concordia. Li Li a travaillé au théâtre, à la télévision, au cinéma et en jeux vidéo. Li Li a également assumé diverses fonctions telles que réparatrice, traductrice, directrice de casting et coproductrice, ainsi que chargée de vente de projets auprès de divers diffuseurs. Li Li est actuellement coprésidente du Comité national sur la diversité et l’inclusion créé par ACTRA, et membre du conseil d’administration d’ACTRA Montréal. Elle fait partie des syndicats suivants : ACTRA, CAEA et UDA. En tant que mère, Li Li est très préoccupée par l’égalité des sexes, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Lori Schubert (littérature/édition) est directrice exécutive de la Quebec Writers’ Federation. De 1998 à 2017, elle a aussi été membre et directrice générale du chœur de chambre VivaVoce. Avant de s’impliquer dans la gestion des arts, Lori a œuvré comme chanteuse et formatrice en communication d’entreprise dans la région métropolitaine de New York, puis elle a enseigné la communication écrite et orale aux universités McGill et Concordia. Elle a participé à la fondation d’ELAN, après avoir assuré la coordination du Sommet des arts de Québec, et pendant les deux premières années, elle a siégé au conseil d’administration en tant que représentante du domaine de la musique. Lori œuvre actuellement comme consultante auprès de YES Montréal, de la Fondation Metropolis Bleu et de l’Atwater Writers Exhibition.

Helen Simard (danse) est une chorégraphe, danseuse, directrice de répétition et chercheure en danse basée à Montréal. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat (Concordia) et d’une maîtrise (UQAM) en danse contemporaine, elle poursuit actuellement un doctorat en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQAM. Co-directrice artistique de Solid State Breakdance pendant 11 ans, elle travaille maintenant comme chorégraphe indépendante, s’inspirant de l’esthétique punk rock et de musique live. Ses œuvres récentes comprennent Mouvement sans/100 manifestes (2014) et IDIOT (2016). Helen œuvre également comme directrice de répétitions et conseillère dramaturgique auprès de divers artistes de la danse, notamment Tentacle Tribe, Greg Selinger et Victoria Mackenzie. Elle collabore régulièrement avec le groupe rock montréalais Dead Messenger, contribue au magazine The Dance Current et coanime l’émission Danscussions à la radio CHOQ.ca.

Roger Sinha (danse) est né en Angleterre d’une mère arménienne et d’un père indien, et il a déménagé à l’âge de huit ans à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme du Toronto Dance Theatre, il s’installe à Montréal et s’implique rapidement dans plusieurs démarches collaboratives au sein de la communauté artistique locale. En 1991, il forme la compagnie Sinha Danse et commence à développer son propre langage chorégraphique, fondé sur l’entrecroisement de ses origines indiennes et de la culture canadienne. Une trentaine de ses spectacles ont circulé à travers le Canada et à l’étranger. Ses créations réunissent le Bharata Natyam, une danse originaire du sud de l’Inde, les arts martiaux et la danse contemporaine. Cette fusion d’influences diverses a donné naissance à des chorégraphies hybrides tout à fait singulières.

Kalina Skulska (régions) est directrice générale du Hudson Village Theatre (HVT), qui loge dans une ancienne gare rénovée au centre de la ville de Hudson, au Québec. Elle est en charge de toute la programmation en dehors de la saison de théâtre professionnel. Très impliquée auprès des groupes communautaires et organismes culturels locaux, elle agit à titre d’agent de liaison officiel avec les gouvernements municipaux, régionaux, provinciaux et fédéral. Kalina a occupé plusieurs postes de direction au sein de sociétés figurant au classement « Fortune 500 ». Elle s’intéresse beaucoup au développement culturel régional.

Past President

Peter MacGibbon (Regions) has been active in various community sectors over the past 20 years, including the creative economy, lifelong learning, and health and social services. While President of ELAN, he helped put the western Quebec village of Wakefield on the cultural map for artists from across the province. He is currently collaborating with the Centre Wakefield-La Pêche to develop its cultural programming and produce community events for its 200-seat performance space. A long-time musician, he performs at various concerts and festivals with his own band and with other regional performers. Peter envisions a thriving cultural economy in the Outaouais region, where the arts are helping to support rural revitalization.

Comités :

Inclusion

  • Purna Bhattacharya
  • Kakim Goh
  • Karen Cho
  • Kristelle Holliday
  • Li Li

Groupe de travail sur les arts, la culture et la patrimoine

  • Louise Campbell
  • Karen Cho
  • Bettina Forget
  • Kakim Goh
  • Kristelle Holliday
  • Li Li
  • Lori Schubert

Adhésion

  • Roger Sinha (chair)
  • Li Li
  • Kalina Skulska
  • Quinten Sheriff

Ressources humaines

  • Anne Clark
  • Betinna Forget
  • Patrick Lloyd Brennan
  • Roger Sinha

Communications

  • Paul Bracegirdle (Chair)
  • David Phu
  • Corey Gulkin

Gouvernance

  • Fortner Anderson
  • Li Li
  • Louise Campbell
  • Patrick Brennan

15ème anniversaire

  • Roger Sinha
  • Li Li
  • Angie Cheng

Board.

ELAN’s board consists of representatives from the various artistic disciplines that ELAN serves, representatives of the regions outside Greater Montreal, and representatives from sister organizations – the Quebec Drama Federation (QDF), the Quebec Writers Federation (QWF) and the Association of English Language Publishers (AELAQ).

Executive
Directors
Committees

Executive:

Bettina Forget

President

Bettina Forget (Visual Arts) is a visual artist, gallery owner, art educator, and researcher living and working in Montreal. Bettina owns and runs Visual Voice Gallery. Located in downtown Montreal, Visual Voice Gallery presents contemporary art exhibitions, which create a dialogue between art and science. In 2018 she joined the Convergence – Perceptions in Neuroscience Initiative as Director of Fine Art, where she aims to foster interdisciplinary thought and push the boundaries of what is considered science and art. Since 2016 Bettina is the art/science researcher for the SETI Institute’s Artist-in-Residence program. In this capacity, she investigates idea translation between collaborating artists and scientists, and investigates different models of knowing. She is currently pursuing a PhD in Art Education at Concordia University, Canada. Her research project examines the re-contextualization of art and science, and how women and girls may connect to STEM subjects through MakerEducation. Bettina’s creative work focuses on space sciences, inspired by her avid engagement with amateur astronomy. She has exhibited her artwork in the USA, Canada, Germany, Iceland, Singapore, and Nicaragua.

Louise Campbell

Vice President

Louise Campbell (Music) is a clarinettist, pedagogue and arts advocate. As a performer, Louise seeks to interrogate the traditional concert format through fostering the creation of new works. Her specializations include new works, cross-disciplinary creation, works in situ and community arts. As an educator, Louise teaches through experiential learning so that students learn and understand through doing. She brings together her passion for performing and teaching by developing outreach programs that revolve around participatory music making. Louise is currently Vice-President of the Board of the Canadian New Music Network.

Kristelle Holliday

Treasurer

Kristelle Holliday (Regions) has been the Director General of the Théâtre des Petites Lanternes since 2012 and was recently appointed Co-Artistic Director of the organisation. In her artistic practice, she works closely with artists and communities in order to co-create large-scale outdoor theatre performances. The interest in this form stems from the dramatically varied human stories and landscapes that she has encountered during her many years abroad. Now in Canada, she is profoundly inspired by the beauty, poetry and emotion emanating from her new surrounding landscape. As an engaged member of the Quebec arts community, she is also committed to building bridges between the francophone and anglophone arts world, is actively engaged in discussions around representation and takes a leading role in the conversations around socially engaged art and arts and health.

Karen Cho

Secretary

Karen Cho (Film/Television) is a Chinese-Canadian filmmaker known for her socially-engaged documentaries. Karen’s filmography includes In the Shadow of Gold Mountain (2004) a documentary about the Chinese Head Tax and Exclusion Act and the Gemini-nominated Seeking Refuge (Terre d’asile) (2009) a film on refugees in Canada. Status Quo? (2012), Karen’s documentary on women’s rights, won Best Documentary at the Whistler Film Festival. Karen also works as a Writer/Director, Story Editor and Content Producer for TV and Web series. Some of her credits include Extraordinary Canadians (CBC), The Beat (City), Licence to Drill (Discovery), Yukon Gold (History), We are Canada (CBC), Vice Guide to Film (Viceland), Art is my Country (CBC arts web) and The Detectives (CBC).In 2018, Karen was nominated for a Best Direction Canadian Screen Award for her work on the documentary series Interrupt This Program (CBC).

Directors:

Fortner Anderson (Film/Television). Known for the performances of his poems, Fortner has presented his work at the Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville, Poesie festival Berlin (Germany),  Live Biennale (Vancouver) and both the 8th and 10th editions of the Festival Internazionale di Poesia di Genova. Fortner was Executive Director of the Directors Guild of Canada (Quebec Council) for 13 years and Executive Director of Vidéographe. In addition to being a member of ELAN’s Board of Director, Fortner is also a board member of Culture Montréal and a member of the MAtv Citizen Advisory Committee.

Purna Bhattacharya (Corporate) is an Indo-Canadian producer, singer-songwriter, and artist development mentor based in Montreal, Canada. She uses art to create awareness, public dialogue, and equal work opportunities for women, LGBT people, and the deaf/mute. She encourages ethnic diversity, representing her own background using India’s national animal, the peacock, in her logo. With 10 years of experience in music and business, Purna has taught at Concordia University and Carleton University, managed and collaborated on various audio/video productions, and has initiated songwriting projects. She holds a Masters Degree in Musicology, and Certificates in Teaching Assistance, as well as Music and Creativity. In 2018, Purna is focused on: creating a demo album to showcase her songwriting and production skills; developing workshops on creativity, business and equality; providing artist development mentorship; and representing Forestare as their International booking manager (outside Quebec).

Paul Bracegirdle (Writing/Publishing) is an award-winning author of children’s and young adult literature. Working as PJ Bracegirdle and under his pseudonym Paul Blackwell, he has written four novels and two picture books that have been translated into a number of languages. A Montreal native, Paul has toured across Canada, appearing at schools and literary festivals. He has also mentored emerging authors and sat as jurist for various literary programs and prizes.

Patrick Lloyd Brennan (Theatre – QDF) Patrick Lloyd holds a BFA in Contemporary Dance from Concordia University and has been an active member of the performing arts community for over ten years. As a cultural worker, he has an extensive profile including Just For Laughs, Les Grand Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, Parts+Labour_Danse, Centaur Theatre Company, the Segal Centre for Performing Arts, and the Quebec Drama Federation where he is currently Managing Director. Patrick Lloyd has lent his policy, board and committee experience to organizations including Le Conseil québécois du théâtre, Canadian Arts Coalition, MainLine Theatre & the St-Ambroise Montreal FRINGE Festival, and AIDS Community Care Montreal (ACCM). He has represented his community at numerous conferences as an invited speaker and guest, including the Department of Canadian Heritage’s 2016 Cross Canada Official Languages Consultation, Professional Association of Canadian Theatres Conferences, Pride Canada’s National Conference on LGBTTIQA2S issues, and Business for the Arts’ Arts & Business Exchange (abx).

Kakim Goh (Visual Arts) is a Singaporean-born Montreal-based visual artist, curator and cultural worker. As a visual artist who creates interdisciplinary painting, performance and video installations, Kakim has been exhibiting in Mexico and Quebec since 1993, most notably at OBORO, MAI and la Maison de la Culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal. His artworks can be found in private collections in Canada, the United States, Singapore, Mexico, and Chile. He holds a BFA in Painting and Drawing from Concordia University.

Kakim has a long history of community engagement helping to advance equity, diversity and inclusion in the education, arts and culture sectors. Kakim is an appointed Member of the Evaluation Committee for New Artistic Practices and Multidisciplinary Sector at the Conseil des arts de Montréal. He served as Curator of the Visual Arts Program at Festival Accès Asie from 2014 to 2016 and currently occupies the role of Vice-President on the festival’s Board of Directors.

Keith Henderson (Publishing – AELAQ) has published five novels, (The Restoration, 1994, The Beekeeper, 1990, The Roof Walkers, 2013, Acqua Sacra, 2016, and Sasquatch and the Green Sash, 2018), as well as a collection of political essays from when he was a Quebec columnist for the Financial Post (Staying Canadian, DC Books, 1997), and a prize-winning book of short stories (The Pagan Nuptials of Julia, DC Books, 2006). He led a small provincial political party in Quebec during the separatist referendum of 1995 and championed English-language rights and the territorial divisibility of Quebec should ever Quebec partition Canada. He sits on the Board of the AELAQ where he served as past-President.

Li Li (Theatre) is a first generation Canadian. She spent her childhood living in different continents, finally settling in Quebec. She has a BFA major in Digital Image & Sound; with a Minor in Theater from Concordia university. Li Li has worked in theater, TV/film and video games. Behind the camera, Li Li has worked a range of jobs including being a fixer, translator, casting director, co-producer as well as selling finished projects to broadcasters. Currently Li Li is serving as ACTRA National Diversity and Inclusion Committee’s co-chair and part of the ACTRA Montreal branch council. She is part of the following unions: ACTRA, CAEA and UDA. Li Li is a mother and has a strong interest in gender equity, diversity and inclusion.

Lori Schubert (Literature/Publishing) is the executive director of the Quebec Writers’ Federation. From 1998 to 2017 she was also a member and general manager of VivaVoce, a professional chamber choir. Prior to her work in arts management, Lori was a singer and corporate communications trainer in the New York metropolitan area, then taught written and oral communication at McGill and Concordia Universities. She was instrumental in the founding of ELAN, having coordinated the Quebec Arts Summit, and served on its board as a music representative for its first two years. Lori currently serves in an advisory capacity for YES Montreal, the Blue Metropolis Foundation and the Atwater Writers’ Exhibit.

Helen Simard (Dance) is a Montreal-based choreographer, dancer, rehearsal director, and dance researcher. She holds a BFA (Concordia) and MA (UQAM) in contemporary dance, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Études et pratiques des arts at UQAM. She was co-artistic director at Solid State Breakdance for 11 years and now works as an independent choreographer, drawing inspiration from punk rock aesthetics and live music. Recent works include Mouvement sans/100 manifestes (2014) and IDIOT (2016). Helen also provides rehearsal direction and dramaturgical support for various dance artists, including Tentacle Tribe, Greg Selinger, and Victoria Mackenzie. She collaborates regularly with the Montreal rock band Dead Messenger, contributes to dance magazine The Dance Current, and is a co-host of Danscussions on CHOQ.ca radio.

Roger Sinha (Dance) was born in England to an Armenian mother and an Indian father and later moved at the age of eight to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. After graduating from Toronto Dance Theatre, he settled in Montreal and quickly became involved in several collaborations within the blossoming local artistic community. In 1991, he formed his company Sinha Danse and began developing his distinct choreographic language based on an intermingling of his Indian background and Canadian culture. More than 30 shows were on tour across Canada and overseas. His creations unite Bharata Natyam, a dance originating in Southern India, martial arts and contemporary dance. This unique fusion of influences has given birth to hybrid choreographies that are unquestionably distinctive.

Kalina Skulska (Regions) is the Executive Director of Hudson Village Theatre (HVT) located in the historic refurbished train station in the center of Hudson, Quebec. She is responsible for organizing all programming outside the professional live theatre summer season; extensively involved with local community groups and cultural organizations; and the official liaison to municipal, regional, provincial and federal governments. Previously Kalina held a number of high level management positions with Fortune 500 companies. Her interests include regional cultural development.

Past President:

Peter MacGibbon (Regions) has been active in various community sectors over the past 20 years, including the creative economy, lifelong learning, and health and social services. While President of ELAN, he helped put the western Quebec village of Wakefield on the cultural map for artists from across the province. He is currently collaborating with the Centre Wakefield-La Pêche to develop its cultural programming and produce community events for its 200-seat performance space. A long-time musician, he performs at various concerts and festivals with his own band and with other regional performers. Peter envisions a thriving cultural economy in the Outaouais region, where the arts are helping to support rural revitalization.

Committees:

Inclusion

  • Kakim Goh (Chair)
  • Karen Cho (Co-Chair)
  • Purna Battacharya
  • Farah Fancy (Non-Board Member)
  • Kristelle Holliday
  • Li Li

Arts, Culture, Heritage (ACH) Working Group

  • Fortner Anderson
  • Louise Campbell
  • Chuck Childs
  • Karen Cho
  • Farah Fancy
  • Deborah Forde
  • Bettina Forget
  • Kristelle Holliday
  • Rob Lutes
  • Dan Webster

Membership

  • Roger Sinha (Chair)
  • Kalina Skulska
  • Quinten Sheriff (non-board member)

Communications

  • Paul Bracegirdle (Chair)
  • David Phu
  • Corey Gulkin

15th Anniversary

  • Roger Sinha
  • Li Li
  • Kalina Skulska
  • Angie Cheng
  • Isak Goldschneider
  • Corey Gulkin

Governance

  • Fortner Anderson
  • Louise Campbell
  • Li Li
  • Patrick Lloyd Brennan